Mighty Warriors Look To Progress In 2022 Women’s Africa Cup Of Nations Qualifiers

Mighty Warriors will be looking to finish off Eswatini when the two teams clash again in the return leg of their 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in Mbambane on Tuesday afternoon.

Zimbabwe are in pole-position after leading Eswatini 3-1 in the first leg played in Harare on Friday with goals from Marjory Nyaumwe, Priviledge Mupeti and skipper Emmaculate Msipa.

Coach Sithethelelwe Sibanda is expected to make few changes from the squad that triumphed in Harare, bringing in Tanzania based utility player Danai Bhobho who is back in the squad after missing the first leg due to medical reasons.

Besides leading the tie with a comfortable margin, coach Sibanda “Kwinji 15” is not letting complacency creep into her squad.

“We take it as a new game. We have forgotten about the first leg. It has come and gone,” said Sibanda speaking to The Herald.

Eswatini are certainly no pushovers, they showed their quality in the first leg and even managed to breach the Mighty Warriors defence in Harare and will be desperate to turn the tables.

“We try to improve on our weaknesses and maintain the positives from the last game, and hopefully, everything will fall into place as we have planned,” said Sibanda

Mighty Warriors arrived in Manzini the capital of Eswatini formely Swaziland on Sunday after a 400km road trip from Johannesburg and had their last training at the match venue yesterday.

The winner of the tie will play either Angola or Botswana in the final round of qualifications for a place among the final 12 teams in Morocco next year.

Four teams from the Morocco finals will automatically qualify for the World Cup whilst two more will have a chance to progress through inter-confiderations play offs.

Here is Mighty Warriors’ 18-member squad that traveled to Eswatini:

Lindiwe Magwede (GK), Cynthia Shonga (GK), Nobukhosi Ncube, Sheila Makoto, Edeline Mutumbami, Egness Tumbare, Purity Mugayi,
Danai Bhobho, Shyline Dambamuromo
Marjory Nyaumwe, Emmaculate Msipa ©,
Alice Moyo, Christabel Katona, Natasha Ndowa,
Priviledge Mupeti, Maudy Mafuruse, Rudo Neshamba, Danai Rose Banda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *